Things That Make My Heart Flutter

Random Bits of Happy

* Hot baths that steam up the entire bathroom and turn your muscles into mushy balls of relaxed. I had Jasmine bath salts and had little tiny fragrant flowers floating around me.  It was so lush and decadent and I think I will sleep in total bliss tonight.


* Buying out what I could of the last of Vanilla Noir from my local Bath and Body Works. I bought 2 more bottles of lotion & spray even though I already had mostly full bottles.  They always drop the scents I love.  Ah well….after these are over it should be time for me to move on and find new scents.  I already am growing on Twilight Woods from them, and have my eye on a few new Black Phoenix Alchemy Labs scents that I would love to try.

* Having a night in with friends.  We made plans on Friday night and they kept changing.  Dinner, dancing, just going to a bar, meeting to see a movie.  In the end we went to their house and watched a comedy special that we talk through for the most part.  We did catch the occasional joke and had a good time laughing at the show but for the most part it was just a quiet night with friends and it was lovely.

Quick Mentions:

* Realizing that today 14 years ago my husband and I went on our first date.   * Listening to Patrick Wolf, Bat For Lashes and The xx pretty much non-stop.  * Getting the hang of blogging a few times a weeks and realizing that people actually stop by and read it!  * Fixing Facebook for my Mom and having her be uber thrilled….like I’m a super genius.  * Fluffy comfy bed making me have super lucid dreams.  *Dancing around my room in my ruffled panties.  * The french manicure I gave MYSELF lasting this long with no chips.  Yay for a bottom and top coat…they really do work.  * Pink-ifying everything….a pink felt camera case, a pink day planner, pink pens, pink phone cover…..PINK for life yo! 🙂

What tickled you pink this week?

 

7 Responses

  1. 14 years of happy partnership is no small feat – Congrats!

    Ooh! Which are the BPAL that you have your eye on?

    • I had a note written to myself from a few months back to try Perversion, Dragon’s Milk, Danube but I am also intrigued by the Steamworks collection and just saw new releases and ANACTORIA 2010 sounds hot.

  2. Dragon’s Milk was like a delicious, creamy custardy incense, and Danube – oh! Danube! It is the best scent for hot weather, and with you being in FL, I think it would be perfect. I had written a review on it for makeupalley a few years ago, and I think what I said is that it reminded me of sinking to the bottom of a cool blue pool on hot summer day, being all alone with your thoughts in the silence, and seeing the dim sunlight filtering down through the water.

    Like I said, I don’t really buy from them much anymore…but the scents that I did like…I *really* liked them!

    • I think I may have copied the scents down from something I read from you, I had them written in my moleskin and it didn’t have where I found reviews. Why don’t you buy from them much anymore?

  3. Well, hm. How to say this. I stumbled across their site in November of 2003 when they were still pretty small, although…I guess that’s relative, because even then their scent selection was enormous. But I think their fanbase was nonexistent to tiny and there wasn’t even a forum at that time. I really was enchanted by all of their magickal descriptions, and I had even struck up a bit of a correspondence with the owner, Beth…I forget what her last name is. I thought she was very sweet, very knowledgable. But they became more and more popular and their fanbase grew …I guess like with anything else (or at least in my opinion)…fans of a thing usually ruin that thing for me.

    I know that sounds really snobby, doesn’t it? It’s like as soon as something catches on, I don’t want anything to do with that thing any more. That is so terrible to admit. Jeez.

    But aside from that….and I really hate to say this because I liked the owner so much…I sort of feel like the quality of the scents are not what they used to be. I’ll tell you though, the ones that I like…I really, really adore.

    Please don’t let me discourage you though! I’d love to hear your thoughts, if you do end up making a purchase.
    I can just really be a curmudgeon sometimes…

    • I can understand it. Your opinion is yours. I’ve only found them since 2007 so the quality is still about the same as I’ve ever know it to be. I wear Ultraviolet and Fae now on occasion and love the scents to death but they are really summer scents to me. I haven’t really “bonded” with winter scents from them but do want to.

      However I’d love a recommendation for another company. I too am drawn in by the descriptions. The poems and stories make me want to wear a scent.

      Haus of Gloi is great so far but limited in scents.

  4. Okay! Well! I’ve got two companies for you that I really just adore <–I just typo'ed that as "order", which I think is fairly accurate. Funnily enough, I found out about both of these places ages ago through BPAL!

    Villainess – http://www.villainess.net
    Their "gingersnapped" soap and their "scintillating" scrub are to die for. They just started doing fragrance in the past year or two but I have not tried any of them yet.

    Arcana – no site to buy directly from, but two places I've purchased through are:
    http://thesoapboxco.com/index.asp
    http://www.magicalomaha.com/

    I LOVE her "Holy Terror" scent; it's seasonal, I think – probably around Halloween :
    "There are utterly somber and fearsome spirits which are known to haunt certain long-deserted chapels, monasteries and abbeys. An unsettling, austere blend of burning frankincense, sandalwood, deep myrrh and dusty beeswax candles."

    If you've already heard of these two places, I apologize…but they are two of my favourites!

    PS
    Hope your sweetie feels better! Is it a cold, or the flu?
    "Wellness Formula" is excellent, but stinky, and good to have around anyway. Take it daily for maintenance and double up when you feel like you are coming down with something:
    http://tinyurl.com/yhofasv

Leave a Reply

