Books: Reading, Have Read, To Be Read

One of my new favorite bloggers Kim from Mermaid in a Manhole has made a few blog posts about books that I love, I am snagging her idea a bit and morphing it into one post.

Reading:

* The Alchemist – Paulo Coelho  – Deep book, I keep picking it up and sitting it down.  It’s good but heavy in spirituality.  Not my norm when it comes to reading.

* Born of Fire – Sherrilyn Kenyon – I’m mere pages from the end…I will finish it today.  I needed a quick & dirty book….I can eat up a Sci-Fi/Romance crossover in days….I started this one Sunday afternoon to sort of clear my mind!

* Stich N Bitch Nation – by Debbie Stoller – I’m not sure if I’m ready to try to follow a pattern yet, still a newbie at this…but dang this book makes me want to try.

Have Read: These are the books that I love, there are many I started and didn’t finish, or got to the end and couldn’t believe I wasted my time.

* Harry Potter series – by J.K. Rowling

* Twilight series – by Stephenie Meyer

* Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) series – by Charlaine Harris

* Black Dagger Brotherhood series – by J.R. Ward (all except last, Lover Avenged, it’s sitting in my stack of to be reads!)

* Lovely Bones – by Alice Sebold

* The Time Traveller’s Wife , Her Fearful Symmetry – by Audrey Niffenger

* Mockingbird – by Sean Stewart

* Gargoyle – by Adam Davidson

Neverwhere , Stardust, American Gods – by Neil Gaiman

* Liquor , Lost Souls – Poppy Z. Brite

* Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat BooksNecklace of Kisses, Echo, The Hanged Man, Wasteland – by Francesca Lia Block

* Wicked Lovely , Ink Exchange – by Melissa Marr

* Garden Spells, The Sugar Queen – by Sarah Addison Allen

* The Book of Bright Ideas – Sandra Kring

* Chocolat – by Joanne Harris

* The Great Gatsby – by F. Scott Fitzgerald

* Catcher In The Rye, Franny & Zooey – J. D. Salinger

* Sellevison , Running With Scissors, Dry: A Memoir, Possible Side Effects, Magical Thinking: True Stories – by Augusten Burroughs

* A Million Little Pieces – by James Frey

* She’s Come Undone – by Wally Lamb

* White Oleander – Janet Fitch

* Practical Magic – by Alice Hoffman

* The Fever series – by Karen Marie Moning

* Slapstick – Kurt Vonnegut

* A Seperate Peace – by John Knowles

* Alas Babylon – Pat Frank

To Be Read:

* The Big Ass Book of Crafts – by Mark Montano

* The Rose Labyrinth – by Titania Hardie

* Anansi Boys – by Neil Gaiman

* Women of the Night – edited/compiled by Martin H. Greenberg    (this is a collection of short vampire stories by different authors incl. Neil Gaiman! I’ve read about 2 stories I want to read them all)

* Dead Girls, Dead Boys, Dead Things – Richard Calder

* Faerie Wars – Herbie Brennan

* Sense and Sensibility – by Jane Austen

* Slaughterhouse Five – Kurt Vonnegut (This is currently on my husband’s bedside table since I thought he’d like Vonnegut I bought this for him.  I was told it was a good place to start with his books, although I started with another.  I am looking forward to reading it after him)

*Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess (My husband came into our relationship owning this book.  He has always said it was a good read and once or twice I tried to pick it up and never got around to reading it.)

Of course I also have a Melting Pot Book Club book each month so I think my list is pretty hefty.  I also think a few of the series books I read might have new ones out.  We’ll see how long I stay on this list or stray.  I will try to update you to my progress.  🙂

As you can see I am heavy on the fantasy, vampire, goth and southern magic fiction.  Please feel free to suggest a book!

2 Responses

  1. I just read Her Fearful Symmetry – thanks for the recommendation a few weeks ago! I loved it…but…it almost seems to me like this was written before Time Travelers Wife; the writing seems more mature in the first book, and less in this one!

    You know when I first started knitting I had the Stitch and Bitch book, but I am fairly certain I never knit one thing from it! My two favourites are Nancy Bush’s Vintage Socks Book :
    http://www.amazon.com/Knitting-Vintage-Socks-Classic-Patterns/dp/1931499659 and Cheryl Oberle’s Folk Shawls : http://www.amazon.com/Folk-Shawls-knitting-patterns-Knitting/dp/1883010594/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1264010695&sr=1-1

    I’ve got a few more recommendations for you, to thank you for yours:

    Monsters of Templeton, Lauren Groff
    Lonely Werewolf Girl, Martin Millar
    The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie, C. Alan Bradley
    and
    The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Stieg Larsson

    • You know, I think I agree with you. The Time Traveller’s Wife did seem more mature, the characters are more thought out.

      Thanks for the recommendations. I will check them out for sure!

Leave a Reply

