Things That Make My Heart Flutter

Random Bits of Happy

 

photograph by Mikey Da Photographer

 * I don’t get very many comments on my blog but continue to see the stats rise, so that keeps me going.  This past week after my Things That Make My Heart Flutter post, I got the sweetest comment that I inspired someone to start a weekly list of positive things!  This one little comment made me toe curling, float on air happy!  Thank you for your comments, they make me grin from ear to ear.  I enjoy the ones I get and try to reply to anyone that comments.  ❤  

Photograph by Me!

* Dr. Sketchy’s Anti-Art School was this week.  It’s only the 2nd show and they are having them here in Jacksonville at The Sinclair on the 2nd Wednesday of each month.  The atmosphere as described by UJ Coloumnist Audrey Keith, ” is bawdy, friendly, and just plain fun. Imagine an artsy Cheers with more engaging and exotic characters, and a burlesque beauty at the center of it all.”  We enjoyed ourselves, enjoyed our hosts and most importantly we enjoyed the “lubrication” to get the drawing going….the lubrication is the host’s wonderful word for sake shots on the house.  We never mind fun like this, and don’t worry about your drawing skills, it’s more about the fun than the skill!  Hope to see Jacksonville people there next month!

Quick Mentions:

* Pizza Party birthdays for adults! * Haus of Gloi orders that smell like heaven, arrive early, have little extras and make you feel like silk! * Thrift shopping and hitting pay dirt with original tags still on clothes. * Bat For Lashes – Sleep Alone * Cold weather snuggles that end in cold weather lovins’.  * “I like your jeans.” “Wanna try them on?” “…0_O maybe next time?” *Secret Speakeasy openings with instructions to text for entry….shhhh!  * Hour long Skyping with friends too far away.  *Hearing risky stories about hot tub shenanigans.  *Ladytron – Beauty #2  * My always inspiration is Miss Gala Darling, she posted about her 2010 style direction and called it Psychedelic Ladies Who Lunch and described some of it as “Feathers & crystals worn with sequins” which oddly enough I already do! and DID on New Year Eve!  I feel you Miss Bunny Darling…I do!  *Jacksonville people are getting the best mild weather today…let’s enjoy it, go outside!

Tell me what made your toes curl in delight this week!

 

2 Responses

  1. Ooh, I love “Sleep Alone” also, excellent pick! I remember trying to listen to Ladytron a few years back and I just couldn’t get into it…maybe I shall give it another try!

    I must be a late bloomer, did you know I am just NOW starting to listen to things like…oh, say …Bauhaus for example? You know… that early to mid 80’s creepy darkwave goth synthpop type of stuff? I am a little embarassed to admit that I am hearing this sort of music for the first time!

  2. Oh Wow! Just found Bauhaus? We saw them at a reunion tour about 3 or 4 years ago. I have loved them since high school, it was dream come true. Joy Division, The Smiths, Morrissey, Portishead, Radiohead, Depeche Mode, Bjork. They are all little special places in my heart!

    If you are trying to break into Ladytron some of it is a little more techno than dark wave. I enjoy the Witching hour more than anything. It’s darker.

Leave a Reply

