Books: The Salaryman’s Wife by Sujata Massey

masseyThis book had a little of everything.  Mystery, romance, action and a foreign setting made this the perfect book choice for me.  Rei is a states born Japanese-American who loves Japan and teaches English for a kitchen retail company in Tokyo.  On a long New Years Eve vacation to a snowy small town in Northern Japan she stays at an Inn with a handful of colorful characters and a murder takes place.  She gets pulled into the mystery as the translator but becomes emotionally involved when a new love interest made at the Inn becomes the main suspect.

The book takes you through many of Japan’s towns, the unspoken manners that are required and the seedy nightlife that exists in Tokyo.  I found myself unable to put the book down and while I thought I had everything figured out and just KNEW who the bad guy was…I was surprised to find I was wrong.  I love it when mysteries let me think I have it figures out and then pull a fast flip on me!  I will be checking out more of Sujata Massey’s many mysteries.  Many of them seem to be American’s working in Japan.  A fun fast read!  4 out of 5 butterflies!

Leave a Reply

